The TuskegeeCity Council is the legislative branch of the city government, responsible for making policy decisions and passing ordinances concerning the conduct and affairs of the city. The Mayor, who provides leadership on all policy deliberations that come before the City Council, is elected at large for a four-year term. When vacancies occur between elections, an appointment to fill a vacancy is made by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council.
Governing Body Goals
The Mayor and City Council members recognize the importance and value of having a deliberate planning process to help guide land use, economic development, and efficient use of public funds. Their goals include:

City Services: Ensure that city services assist in creating a superior quality of life and a safe atmosphere where people desire to live, work and play.

Fiscal Responsibility: Provide exceptional value for community-provided resources and strive for long-term financial balance in the city’s operational and capital activities.

Economic Development: Promote and stimulate quality development (including retail, corporate headquarters, bioscience, high technology companies and residential) to enhance the city’s diverse economic base.

Reinvestment: Promote and support efforts to redevelop retail sites and improve our neighborhoods to continue the city’s reputation as a safe and friendly community.

City Center: Partner in the development of a premier destination point - City Center - that serves as a community gathering place integrating a variety of uses.

Sense of “Community”: Celebrate Tuskegee’s heritage and history to enhance the sense of community, pride and quality of life for residents.

Mayor and Council
Feel free to contact the Mayor and City Council members individually by phone or email. If you don’t receive a reply to your email within a couple of days, please follow up by phone, because occasionally e-mail messages are caught in spam filters.
Attend a Council Meeting
City Council Calendar
Minutes & Agendas
City of Tuskegee>>Government>>City Council
Find Your Council Member
Mayor Lawrence Tony Haygood
Council Member Christopher Lee
Council Member Annie Lucas Brown
Council Member Shirley W. Curry
Council Member Ala Whitehead