Attend a Council Meeting
City Council Calendar
Minutes & Agendas
Find Your Council Member
Council Member Christopher Lee
Council Member Annie Lucas Brown
Council Member Shirley W. Curry
Council Member Ala Whitehead
City of Tuskegee » Government »City Council » Mayor Lawrence Tony Haygood
Mayor Lawrence F. Haygood, Jr.
Phone: 334.725.8496
Cell: 334.421.7745

Lawrence F. Haygood, Jr.  Was elected Mayor of Tuskegee in 2016.

Mayor Haygood received his undergraduate degree at Rhodes College with a major in Political Science and a minor concentration in Economics. He received a MBA Degree from Auburn University Montgomery with additional studies in Management Science at Krannert School of Management at Purdue University and the Georgia Institute of Technology. In the summer of 2011, Haygood completed the Intensive Economic Development Training Course at Auburn University. Mr Haygood has also served as Economic/Business Development Specilaist at the Tuskegee-MaconCounty Community Development Corporation (TMCDC) for the past four years.
In that capacity he has been working closely with the Tuskegee University Cooperative Extension Program. (TUCEP) and as a member of the Booker T. Washington Economic Summit Planning Committee. He has worked with the TMCDC staff to promote business development in the county, support improvement of entrance corridors, perform housing rehabilitation, conduct entrepreneurial training, and manage a community revolving loan fund. As a grant writer, he worked with TUCEP and TMCDC staff to acquire substantial grant funding for community programs. In addition to being a member of the Housing & Urban Development (HUD), Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU), and Community Development Action Coalition (CDAC) national boards, Haygood is also a current member and past president of Alpha Nu Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. He previously served as President of Southern Community College, chairmen of the Tuskegee Area Healthe Education Center, as well as past State Vice-President for Alabama New South Coalition. Haygood was selected as Alabama Tree Farmer of the Year in 1998 and received the Tuskegee University Merit Farm Family Awaed in 2005 at the 113th Annual Farmer's Conference.